City of Kelowna

MEMORANDUM

DATE:
FILE:February 12, 2003
0540-20TO:City ManagerFROM:Chair, Kelowna Parking CommitteeRE:Appointments to Kelowna Parking Committee

RECOMMENDATION:

THAT the following individuals be appointed to the Kelowna Parking Committee for the current term ending in November/2005:

- Mr. Hans Van Leening representing the Access Awareness Team;
- Mr. Clay William representing the Downtown Kelowna Association replacing Mr. Clint McKenzie; &
- Ms. Myrna Park representing the Kelowna Chamber of Commerce.

BACKGROUND:

With the new Council, term appointments to the Kelowna Parking Committee have been considered. Nominations were received from the Access Awareness Team, the Downtown Kelowna Association and the Kelowna Chamber of Commerce. In all three cases, new individuals were nominated.

At Council's inaugural meeting Mr. Clint McKenzie was appointed by Council to the Committee. Mr. McKenzie is the Executive Director of the Downtown Kelowna Association and as such participates and supports the Kelowna Parking Committee similar to City staff. The DKA has since nominated one of their Board Members as their member on the Committee.

The two community-at-large members, Mr. Dave Allen and Ms. Marie McKiernan, were re-appointed to the Committee at Council's inaugural meeting.

Councillor Colin Day, Chair Kelowna Parking Committee